Stroud, with some of the oldest European architectural heritage in Australia that has not been contextually diluted is too valuable not have its extant heritage protected. Three of the four buildings pictured here were built within fifty years of European settlement. The fourth building, the parish hall, was built a little later. All are used for the same purpose for which they were built and still sit within the rural context painted by Conrad Martens in 1852.
The Friends have produced two Newsletters a year since 1996. They tell of conservation projects, aspects of the history of St. John’s and insights into the interesting personalities of the past.
October Newsletter:Click here
Paper of the highest quality has been selected for the Conrad Martens note cards now being offered by the Friends of St John’s. A watercolour of Stroud has been chosen from the collection of the Mitchell Library and State Library of NSW and is reproduced with permission.
The clear-wrapped packets of cards are ideal for personal use and small gifts.
Charming 1841 pencil sketches, are available in packs of eight at $12 per pack. Four different sketches are printed in sepia on light beige card.
The wide watercolour of Stroud shows church, rectory and Lady Parry’s school, now Quambi House. Packs of five are available at $10 per pack
Our printers, Hogan Print, of Artarmon, have a special enthusiasm for this project, the Hogan family having enjoyed a long and continuing connection with Stroud.
To download an order form:Click here
A few copies of the Friends’ cookbook ‘Come Celebrate with Us’ are still available.
Stroud domestic dwellings built by the AAco in the 1830's.