item1

St. John's taken from Quambi

WHO WE ARE:

We are a dedicated group working to ensure the preservation of these nationally important buildings and graveyard.

The Friends of St. Johns was formed in 1996 out of a recognition that the local church community alone could not ensure the future of the unique Georgian church, rectory and parish hall.

Since their inception the Friends have:

  • Recruited more than 250 members, most not living in the Stroud District.
  • Arranged tax deductibility of gifts through the National Trust.
  • Commissioned and shared the cost of a Conservation Management Plan approved by NSW Heritage Office and the Australian Department of the Environment and Heritage.
  • Secured State and Commonwealth heritage grants
  • Managed and helped finance six restoration programs.
  • In 2005, commissioned architectural reports on the scope of restoration work still needed.

CURRENT PROJECTS:

The Friends completed a $50,000 two-year conservation project in 2012. All external painted surfaces of the church were restored and repainted. At the rectory, repair of fretted brickwork was repaired and the western verandah floor was reconstructed. Currently plans are before State Heritage to replace the unsympathetic and decayed 1906 annexe on the C.1860 Parish Hall.

Working in partnership with Great Lakes Council, owners of Quambi, The Friends established the Stroud Heritage Conservation Trust which now stands alone and is dedicated to funding conservation work into the future on all four National Heritage listed buildings in the St. John’s Group.

PATRONS:----------Rt. Rev’d Greg Thompson;----------Dr. Jonathan King;----------Mr. E C (Ted) Merewether